2013 Preservation Wish List

When I was a kid, I used to write epic Christmas Lists. I used to ask Santa for every toy in the toy store, plus a Carribean cruise, and submit my list to him months in advance (via my parents) so that he’d have plenty of time to find everything. The fact that I usually got only one or two of the smaller items on the list didn’t dampen my enthusiasm for asking big again the next year.

Canned Rhubarb

It’s in that spirit that I’m recording my 2013 Food Preservation Wish List. Last week’s rhubarb has got me thinking about the season of abundance that’s coming up, and how I want to capture just the right the right things in just the right proportions. So to start, I’m making a wish list for myself. Then, as my own personal Santa, I can decide what’s really important and make a plan for giving myself whatever is practical.

Here goes:

Finished Products (To eat as is, give as gifts, etc.)

  • Apple Butter
  • Spiced (or spicy?) Blackberry Jam
  • Seasoned Pear sauce and Apple Sauce, (perhaps with other fruit mixed in, like that successful apple-nectarine sauce?) but only a few pints of each.
  • Spiced Cherry and/or Plum Jam
  • Something interesting with strawberries.
  • BBQ Sauce?
  • Salsa?

Starting Points (To season later, for use as ingredients in other recipes, etc.)

  • Plum Preserves
  • Dried Plums for Baking
  • Dried Cherries
  • Blueberris in some form…frozen?
  • Unseasoned applesauce/apple butter for use as sweetener.
  • Dried Apples & Asian Pears
  • Fig preserves
  • Stewed Tomatoes
  • Dried Tomatoes (can be later partially rehydrated for tomato paste.)

Vegetable Pickles (Which I’ve never made before! But would love to have around as winter snacks. Some possibilities here.)

  • Classic Cukes
  • Is it too late for radishes and/or turnips?
  • Green Beans
  • Peppers
  • Beets
  • Zuchini?

Equipment (Sure, the best things in life are edible, but sometimes it’s easier to produce them if you have the right stuff.)

  • Apple peeler/corer
  • Cherry Pitter
2 responses to “2013 Preservation Wish List

  1. I totally also did this last week.

    You should also try roasting tomatoes and storing them refrigerated under olive oil! I still have a few ounces from last fall and just added some to radish-leaf pesto the other day.

    • Glad we’re on the same schedule. And that’s a great tomato tip! That’s not a preservation method that had occurred to me, but it sounds like a good one if they’re still doing well. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

