Best Cabbage Ever

I actually made this a while ago, but in the spirit of the season, thought I’d write it down here. I was quite pleased when I first first tried this recipe for simple roast cabbage with olive oil, salt and pepper, but when I wanted to make it again, I had no olive oil. Luckily, I did have some bacon, so I fried that up and munched on it while I finished preparing what shall heretofor be known as the Best Cabbage Ever.

I cored the cabbage and cut it into wedges, about an inch thick on the outside, and set them on a baking sheet. In the bacon grease left in the pan (3 Tablespoons?) I sauteed 2-3 Tablespoons of tomato paste, 5 diced cloves of garlic, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and oregano. Then I used a brush to spread it over the cabbage wedges, and roasted it for about 15 minutes at 375. Best Cabbage Ever

I don’t mean to toot my own horn too much, but this was just really good. Sweet from the tomato paste, spicy and savory from the garlic, red pepper, and oregano, slightly caramelized from the roasting. I like cabbage, and enjoy it prepared many ways, but I have never before enjoyed it so much that I ate a whole head in one sitting. Which I did with this — it was that good. Try it. And if you don’t have bacon lying around, it’s still pretty darned tasty with olive oil.

Leave a Reply

